atc sandt

August 17, 2015 (Chicago, IL)—American Theater Company (ATC) is pleased to announce the hiring of Dee Sandt as its new managing director. Dee joins the company full time effective immediately.


“On behalf of the board, ensemble and staff, I’m thrilled to be able to welcome Dee to American Theater Company and the Chicago theater community,” says ATC Board President Art Cunningham. “She has a terrific track record of taking each theater she’s managed to the next level and will play a pivotal role in ATC’s growth as we begin our 31st season.”


Sandt has been managing director for Synchronicity Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia since October 2012. A financial and development consultant to theatres regionally, Sandt also served as the executive director to Beaufort Performing Arts, Inc., in Beaufort, SC from March 2004-May 2008 which she built to a half a million dollar budget in only four years. She also owned, operated and directed 3D II International, SP Limited, LLC and 3D Productions, all national bus and truck touring companies producing Broadway productions. Sandt is also a nationally recognized director and choreographer and some of her credits include regional theatre, touring productions and Off Broadway. She served as interim director of Musical Theatre Performance for Western Michigan University and was a guest artist for Musical Theatre Performance at Southwest Missouri State University for two years. She is thrilled to be the managing director at American Theater Company and call Chicago home.


About American Theater Company

American Theater Company (ATC) challenges and inspires its community by exploring stories that ask the question, “What does it mean to be an American?” ATC’s Ensemble includes Patrick Andrews, Kareem Bandealy, Jaime Castañeda, Kelly O’Sullivan, Tyler Ravelson, and Sadieh Rifai.


American Theater Company is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, and CityArts grant from the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, the Lloyd A. Fry Foundation, Polk Bros. Foundation, the MacArthur Fund for Arts and Culture at Prince, and the Shubert Foundation.


# # #